The Intrust Super Cup Overview

The Intrust Super Cup is a state wide Rugby League Competition controlled by the Queensland Rugby League. It commenced in 1982 as the Winfield State League with 8 Brisbane Teams and 6 regional teams participating (Gold Coast, North Queensland, Wide Bay, Toowoomba, Central Qld and Ipswich). It initially consisted of 6 rounds only, being played during March/April.

In 1996, the QRL decided to expand the competition to a season long, home and away competition and increased the number of participating teams to 16. The competition in 2012 consisted of 12 teams and was played over 22 rounds from March to August.

The Intrust Super Cup is widely recognised as the next best Rugby League competition in the country behind the National Rugby League competition. The Intrust Super Cup provides a pathway for players into the NRL, with a number of NRL Clubs using Intrust Super Cup teams as “feeder” teams.  In any given week there are dozens of NRL players playing in the Intrust Super Cup competition with players regularly called up to the NRL ranks each week.

The CQ Capras boast the best home crowds in the Intrust Super Cup